Today's Latest Bangla Sports News | Sports News in Bengali | MCW Sports

IPL: 10 slowest centuries recorded in cash-rich league

May 26, 2023

No tags for this post.

David Warner, Jos Buttler and Ambati Rayudu. (Photo Source: Twitter)

For any batter, smashing a century in the Indian Premier League (IPL) becomes one of the most memorable moments in his cricketing career. In the last 15 years, IPL supporters have witnessed a lot of centuries. Back in 2008, when the inaugural edition of the league was played, Brendon McCullum hit a fabulous century in the opening game against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Over the years, some rapid tons have been scored from batters in the IPL such as Chris Gayle, Yusuf Pathan, David Miller, Adam Gilchrist, and AB de Villiers among others. While on the other side, there have also been some batters who have also racked up hundreds at a gradual pace in the tournament. 

Here are the top 10 slowest IPL centuries

10. Manish Pandey vs Deccan Chargers (2009)

Manish Pandey. (Photo Source: Twitter)

In the 2009 IPL, Manish Pandey grabbed headlines for his stupendous 114-run innings off 73 deliveries for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Deccan Charges (DC) in Centurion. Pandey, who was just 19 years old, played some exquisite strokes and brought his century in just 67 deliveries.

Riding on his extraordinary knock, Bangalore defeated Chargers by 12 runs and Pandey became the recipient of the Player of the Match award. 

9. Sachin Tendulkar vs Kochi Tuskers Kerala (2011)

Sachin Tendulkar. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After three editions of the league, Sachin Tendulkar gave his fans a memorable IPL memory from his bat. In the 13th game of IPL 2011, Master Blaster smashed 100 runs off 66 deliveries against the Mahela Jayawardene-led Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK). During his magnificent innings, he hit 15 boundaries (12 fours and three maximums) to become a centurion. However, his innings went in vain as KTK emerged victorious by eight wickets in the end.

8. David Warner vs Kolkata Knight Riders (2010)

David Warner. (Photo Source: Twitter)

David Warner notched up his maiden IPL century in 2010. At the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium (now Arun Jaitley Stadium), Warner powered Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in match 26, with his remarkable century that came in 66 balls. His 107-run innings helped Daredevils to thump the visitors by 40 runs.

7. Jos Buttler vs Mumbai Indians (2022)

Jos Buttler. (Photo Source: Twitter)

In the ninth match of IPL 2022, Jos Buttler displayed his fierce side with his bat against Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy Stadium. Hitting 100 runs off just 66 deliveries, the veteran became the Player of the Match in his team’s one-sided 23-run victory.   

6. Kevin Pietersen vs Deccan Chargers (2012)

Kevin Pietersen. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Kevin Pietersen showed his class with the bat in the 23rd match of the IPL 2012. Against Deccan Chargers, following a target of 158, Pietersen won the game for his team Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) with his unbeaten 103-run innings off 64 balls.

5. KL Rahul vs Mumbai Indians (2019)

KL Rahul (Photo Source: twitter)

KL Rahul hit his maiden IPL century in 2019 for Punjab Kings (PBKS) against Mumbai Indians (MI) in match 24 held at the Wankhede Stadium. Racking up 100 runs off 63 deliveries, he helped his team to amass 197/4 in 20 overs. However, despite his scintillating knock, Punjab lost the clash by three wickets.

4. Virat Kohli vs Gujarat Lions (2016)

Virat Kohli vs GL in 2016 (Photo Source: Twiiter)

Virat Kohli was in beast mode for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL 2016. In the 19th IPL match, RCB locked horns with Gujarat Lions (GL) and Kohli led his team from the front but RCB lost the game by six wickets.

RCB scored 180 in 20 overs for the loss of two wickets. Virat reached the three-figure mark off 63 balls, including 11 fours and one maximum at a strike rate of 158.73. Gujarat chased the total down in 19.3 overs.

3. Virat Kohli vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (2023)

Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

In the 65th match of IPL 2023, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) clashed with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. Batting first in the match, the hosts tasked the visitors to chase 187 in their 20 overs.

For Challengers, a victory was important to survive in the competition, and this time, their oldest stalwart, Kohli, stepped up and delivered a match-winning 100 off 62 to help his team secure a comfortable eight-wicket victory.  

2. Ambati Rayudu vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (2018)

Ambati Rayudu (Photo Source: twitter)

Ambati Rayudu became a part of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in 2018 after serving Mumbai Indians (MI) for eight years. Donning the CSK jersey for the first time, Rayudu looked ferocious with his bat to help Super Kings bag the title for the third time in 2018. 

Against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in match 46 of the 11th IPL season, he hit his maiden and only IPL hundred in just 62 balls to take his team home by eight wickets. For his sensational performance (unbeaten 100 off 62), he also got the Player of the Match award at the end of the match.

1. KL Rahul vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (2020)

KL Rahul PBKS KIT (Photo Source: Twitter)

KL Rahul exhibited his brutal side to bowlers in IPL 2020 and became the orange cap winner for Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the end of the season. In the sixth match of the league, the Rahul-led Punjab faced Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). 

Winning the toss, Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli invited Punjab to bat first. Kohli’s decision completely backfired as his counterpart Rahul played his best IPL knock (unbeaten 132 off 69) to power his team to vanquish Bangalore by 97 runs. 

Related Posts

MCW Sports Over 40s Cricket Global Cup 2023
MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Generated by Feedzy
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter