BCCI make changes in India’s squad for 1st and 2nd T20I against Zimbabwe; Sai Sudharsan among the three fresh faces

Jul 2, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced changes to the Indian squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe, kicking off on July 6.

Fresh faces get a chance

Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma and Harshit Rana have been named as replacements for the first two T20Is, flying to Zimbabwe to get a taste of international cricket. Sai Sudharsan, already an ODI debutant, will be looking to add T20I experience to his resume. Jitesh Sharma, with nine T20Is under his belt, brings valuable experience to the squad. The most exciting inclusion is Harshit Rana, an uncapped fast bowler who impressed during the IPL 2024 season with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Also READ: Harsha Bhogle picks his best XI of T20 World Cup 2024

Hurricane delays  T20 World Cup heroes’ arrival

The reason for the change in personnel lies with the recent T20 World Cup champions. Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube and Yashasvi Jaiswal, integral members of the victorious squad, have been delayed in Barbados due to a hurricane. The BCCI has confirmed that these players will travel to India first, reunite with the rest of the team, and then depart for the final three T20Is against Zimbabwe in Harare.

Shubman Gill leads the young squad

Shubman Gill will don the captain’s hat for the first two matches, leading a relatively inexperienced but promising squad. Players like Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh and Dhruv Jurel will be aiming to impress and stake their claim for a spot in the national team. Seasoned campaigners like Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed will provide experience and guidance to the youngsters.

The complete squad for the first two T20Is against Zimbabwe includes:

Shubman Gill (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (wk) and Harshit Rana.

The series promises to be an exciting one, with a young Indian team looking to build on their T20 World Cup triumph and establish themselves on the international stage. The fans in Zimbabwe will be eager to witness the new faces in action, while all eyes will be on the World Cup heroes as they join the squad for the final leg of the series.

Also READ: Zimbabwe Cricket announces T20I squad for India series, Sikandar Raza to captain the team

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter