From MS Dhoni to Aiden Markram: List of captains to reach T20 World Cup finals

Jun 29, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup has delivered exhilarating cricketing action since its inception in 2007, captivating fans worldwide with its fast-paced and unpredictable nature. From its humble beginnings to becoming a marquee event on the cricket calendar, the T20 World Cup has witnessed memorable moments, extraordinary performances, and thrilling finishes. Each edition has crowned new champions and showcased the strategic acumen of captains leading their teams in the shortest format of the game.

T20 World Cup 2024 Final: South Africa vs India – The battle for glory

The stage is set for another historic T20 World Cup final as South Africa and India prepare to face off in Barbados. Both teams have demonstrated exceptional form throughout the tournament, remaining unbeaten and delivering dominant performances. South Africa, in pursuit of their first ICC title, will be led by Aiden Markram, while Rohit Sharma will captain India, aiming to add another trophy to their illustrious cabinet. The anticipation is high, and cricket enthusiasts are eagerly awaiting what promises to be an epic showdown.

Captains who reached T20 World Cup finals: A legacy of leadership

T20 World Cup 2007: MS Dhoni and Shoaib Malik

T20 WC 2007

The inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 saw India, under the charismatic leadership of MS Dhoni, triumph over Pakistan in a thrilling final. Shoaib Malik‘s Pakistan fell short, and Dhoni etched his name in history as the first captain to lift the T20 World Cup trophy.

T20 World Cup 2009: Younis Khan and Kumar Sangakkara

T20 WC 2009

In 2009, Pakistan, led by Younis Khan, emerged victorious against Sri Lanka, captained by Kumar Sangakkara. Pakistan’s clinical performance in the final ensured their first T20 World Cup title.

T20 World Cup 2010: Paul Collingwood and Michael Clarke

T20 WC 2010

England claimed their maiden ICC trophy in 2010 under Paul Collingwood‘s captaincy, defeating Australia led by Michael Clarke. Collingwood’s leadership was pivotal in England’s successful campaign.

T20 World Cup 2012: Daren Sammy and Mahela Jayawardene

T20 WC 2012

The 2012 final saw West Indies, captained by Daren Sammy, overpower Sri Lanka, led by Mahela Jayawardene. Sammy’s spirited leadership and the team’s all-round performance secured their first T20 World Cup win.

T20 World Cup 2014: Lasith Malinga and MS Dhoni

T20 WC 2014

Sri Lanka, under the captaincy of Lasith Malinga, avenged their previous final loss by defeating Dhoni’s India in 2014. Malinga’s strategic brilliance and Sri Lanka’s resilience were key to their victory.

Also READ: Fans mock as MBA Chaiwala founder Prafull Billore backs South Africa for the T20 World Cup 2024 final

T20 World Cup 2016: Daren Sammy and Eoin Morgan

T20 WC 2016

Sammy once again led the West Indies to glory in 2016, this time defeating England, captained by Eoin Morgan. Sammy’s leadership and the West Indies’ flair ensured their second T20 World Cup title.

T20 World Cup 2021: Aaron Finch and Kane Williamson

T20 WC 2021

In 2021, Australia, led by Aaron Finch, clinched their first T20 World Cup title by defeating New Zealand, captained by Kane Williamson. Finch’s astute captaincy and Australia’s comprehensive performance were instrumental in their win.

T20 World Cup 2022: Jos Buttler and Babar Azam

T20 WC 2022

The 2022 final saw England, under the leadership of Jos Buttler, overpower Pakistan, captained by Babar Azam. Buttler’s dynamic captaincy and England’s dominant display secured their second T20 World Cup trophy.

T20 World Cup 2024: Aiden Markram and Rohit Sharma

T20 WC 2024

As South Africa and India gear up for the 2024 T20 World Cup final, the legacy of past captains and their triumphs set a high bar. Will Rohit lead India to another title, or will Markram steer South Africa to their first-ever ICC tournament victory? The cricketing world watches with bated breath as history awaits its next chapter.

Also READ: Aussie great Ricky Ponting provides ‘winning formula’ to South Africa for T20 World Cup 2024 final against India

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter