South Africa names 15-member squad for Women’s T20I series against India; Chloe Tryon returns

Jul 1, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have revealed their 15-member roster for the upcoming Women’s T20I series against India, beginning on July 5. These matches will be held at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, serving as essential preparation for the T20 World Cup in October. This announcement comes after a recent series where India triumphed over South Africa, sweeping the ODIs and securing victory in the one-off Test.

Chloe Tryon returns from injury

A significant addition to the squad is the return of seasoned all-rounder Chloe Tryon, who has recovered from a back injury. Her return is the only change in the team, as Delmi Tucker and Nondumiso Shangase will leave the squad following the Test match. Tryon’s inclusion is anticipated to add valuable experience and skill to the team.

“She [Tryon] brings a lot of experience to the team and we can’t wait to see her back on the field. We have our last three T20I matches against India. This will give us some time to look at one or two options before we go home and start our final preparation for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh,” said interim head coach Dillon du Preez.

Also READ: Fans go wild as India thrash South Africa by 10 wickets in the One-off Test

Series outlook

This three-match T20I series is a vital opportunity for South Africa to fine-tune their squad and tactics ahead of the T20 World Cup. India, coming off a dominant series against South Africa, aims to maintain their winning streak. For South Africa, the return of Tryon brings a much-needed boost, offering both experience and versatility.

The T20I matches are set to commence at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on July 5. This series will serve as a critical test for both teams as they gear up for the upcoming global tournament later this year.

South Africa’s women squad for T20Is against India

Laura Wolvaardt (captain), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloé Tryon

Also READ: Fans erupt as Sophie Ecclestone, Maia Bouchier propel England to a series clinching win over New Zealand in 2nd Women’s ODI

This article was first published at, a Cricket Times company.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter