Today's Latest Bangla Sports News | Sports News in Bengali | MCW Sports

Why are Marcus Stoinis and Sean Abbott not playing ICC World Cup 2023, semi-final 2 against South Africa?

Nov 16, 2023

No tags for this post.

Australia and South Africa. (Photo Source: Robert Cianflone, SAJJAD HUSSAIN/AFP via Getty Images)

South Africa will lock horns against Australia in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023’s second semi-final at the iconinc Eden Gardens in Kolkata. India secured their spot in the final by defeating New Zealand in the first semi. The victor of this clash will join India for the ultimate showdown. 

Both the teams made some crucial changes in the squad as South Africa’s skipper, Temba Bavuma, who won the toss and elected to bat first, named Tabraiz Shamsi in the XI, replacing Lungi Ngidi, banking on the pitch’s later favoritism towards spinners in Kolkata. Furthermore, all-rounder Marco Jansen brought in place of Andile Phehlukwayo.

Australia’s skipper, Pat Cummins, eager to bat first, faced disappointment as South Africa chose to set the target. Despite this, the Aussies made pivotal changes as Glenn Maxwell replaced Marcus Stoinis while Mitchell Starc replaced all-rounder Sean Abbott, providing the much-needed pace for the Australian attack after a break.

What did the captains say at toss?

“We will bat first. Not something I really dreamt of. We have come against a team like Australia in the semi-final. Means a lot to me, there’s a game to focus on. Very important to stay in the present. Need to stick to our processes. Shamsi is in for Ngidi, Jansen comes in for Phehlukwayo,” said Bavuma.

“We would have batted first as well. But it is overcast and hopefully there’s some swing early on. They play pretty similar style, unfortunately they have won a last few, we are due. We have been in these positions before. We have a lot of experience. We were not up to our best in those couple of games. But guys have been positive in the last seven games. Two changes for us. Stoinis and Abbott are out. Maxwell and Starc are in,” said Cummins

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Temba Bavuma(c), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Gerald Coetzee, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

Australia (Playing XI): Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis(w), Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Related Posts

South Africa announce multi-format squads for India series

South Africa announce multi-format squads for India series

South-Africa. (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP via Getty Images) In order to focus more on red-ball cricket, ODI skipper Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada decided to skip the white-ball series against India. Bavuma faced harsh criticism following South Africa’s exit from...

MCW Sports Subscribe
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Generated by Feedzy
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter