ZIM vs IND: Reason why there’s only one star on Team India jersey

Jul 7, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The ongoing five-match T20I series between Zimbabwe and India has sparked an interesting discussion among fans. Eagle-eyed viewers noticed a single star above the BCCI crest on the Indian team’s jerseys during the first T20I on Saturday, which India surprisingly lost by 13 runs.

Why only a single star on Team India jersey?

Traditionally, stars on a team’s jersey signify the number of World Cup titles secured in a specific format. India recently clinched their second T20 World Cup title in Barbados, raising questions about the single star. Notably, the Indian team that celebrated their victory sported jerseys with two stars.

The reason behind the single star lies in the timing of events. This second-string Indian squad arrived in Zimbabwe prior to India’s triumphant World Cup campaign, which explains the pre-designed jerseys lacking the second star. These jerseys were likely manufactured before the T20 World Cup final.

This situation highlights the logistical challenge faced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), especially when managing different squads playing in quick succession. The tight turnaround time between the 2024 T20 World Cup and the Zimbabwe series didn’t allow the BCCI to produce new jerseys and deliver them to the Men in Blue on short notice.

Also WATCH: Jasprit Bumrah gets heroic welcome after T20 World Cup champion returns home in Ahmedabad

Meanwhile, the series has moved on to the second T20I at the Harare Sports Club on Sunday. India won the toss and elected to bat first. The encounter witnessed the debut of Sai Sudarshan for the Indian team.

T20I debut for Sai Sudharsan #cricket #ZIMvIND #T20 #CricketTwitter pic.twitter.com/CCaAQlibTV

— CricketTimes.com (@CricketTimesHQ) July 7, 2024

ZIM vs IND: Playing XI of both teams for 2nd T20I:

India: Shubman Gill (c), Abhishek Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Riyan Parag, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Zimbabwe: Wessly Madhevere, Innocent Kaia, Brian Bennett, Sikandar Raza (c), Dion Myers, Johnathan Campbell, Clive Madande (wk), Wellington Masakadza, Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara.

Also READ: Fans goes wild as Zimbabwe stuns India to register a thrilling win in the 1st T20I

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter