loader image

Today's Latest Bangla Sports News | Sports News in Bengali | MCW Sports

69th Senior National Women’s Kabaddi Championship begins in Haryana; here’s a recap of Day 1

Mar 25, 2023

In Mahendragarh’s Shri Krishna Group of Institutions, Haryana, the 69th Senior National Women’s Kabaddi Championship got underway on Thursday. The top female kabaddi players are competing in the four-day tournament from March 23 to March 26 on behalf of their states and employers. In the first game of the 69th Senior National Women’s Kabaddi Championship, Haryana faced Odisha.

There will be 26 teams participating in the competition, and they have been divided into eight groups. In each pool, each team will play one match against each opponent from the same group. The winners and runners-up of the group will then go to the knockout rounds.

With players like Pushpa Rana and Jyoti on their team, Himachal Pradesh will attempt to defend their title. With prominent female kabaddi stars like Sonali Shingate, Pinki Roy, Ritu Negi, and Raksha Narkar, Payel Chowdhury will captain the illustrious Indian Railways squad. With Sayali Jadhav and Snehal Shinde among their ranks, Maharashtra will be headed by Pooja Yadav.

Results of Day 1: Railways register massive 74-point win against Jammu & Kashmir

The hosts Haryana defeated Odisha by a score of 59-19 to win the opening match and take the lead in Group C. In their debut match, defending champions, Himachal Pradesh destroyed Uttar Pradesh 54-14, while Indian Railways defeated Jammu & Kashmir 83-9 by a whopping 74 points.

In contrast, Punjab and Madhya Pradesh’s match went down to the wire, with the former winning 35-33. Rajasthan defeated Kerala with a commanding score of 51-14. Maharashtra defeated Puducherry 44-8 thanks to a strong performance all around. Tamil Nadu outclassed Vidarbha 49-16 to take the top spot in Pool F. Karnataka defeated Uttaranchal by a narrow margin of three points, 33-30, while Chandigarh easily defeated Bihar with a score of 42-33.

In the last edition, 29 teams were divided into eight groups, competing among each other. In the final game, Himachal Pradesh defeated Indian Railways 33-31 to take home the title in Charkhi Dadri, Haryana. In the other semi-final, Indian Railways defeated Rajasthan to win 41-17, and Haryana was eliminated after falling to Himachal Pradesh by a score of 35-32 in the semi-final.

Related Posts

Dubai makes history with inaugural Women’s Kabaddi League

Dubai makes history with inaugural Women’s Kabaddi League

The Women's Kabaddi League (WKL) is set to make its debut in Dubai, marking a significant milestone for the sport. Organized by APS Sports, this league aims to revolutionize women's kabaddi and promote women's empowerment through sports. With kabaddi being the third...

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter