Insight on the 2021 ICC T20 Men’s World Cup

Oct 14, 2021

Spread the love

This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

It’s heaven time for all cricket fanatics with IPL ongoing and also the T20 world cup tournament round the corner. Fans were left thwarted with the postponement of the World Cup tournament when the invasion of covid pandemic happened. Currently when everything is returning to its normal course, so is the T20 World Cup tournament. ICC Men’s T20 cricket World Cup tournament 2021 is ready to start from 17th of October 2021 to the 14th November 2021 in UAE. The seventh edition of the T20 World Cup is going to be an in-depth battle of sixteen groups representing their nation. 

If you’re searching for everything you wish to know concerning the T20 tournament 2021, we provide you with all the insight you need to have concerning the World cup as discussed below. 

Initially, Australia was supposed to host the T20 World Cup, however, they couldn’t because of the suspension of the tournament. Later, in 2021 ICC declared the rescheduling of the World cup with India as host. 

At present, the BCCI has the responsibility to commence mega tournaments with all necessary precautions. All matches are going to be played in UAE and Oman. India was chosen to host the World cup. 

Initially, BCCI organized the tournament in India, however, because of a hike in covid cases in the country, they took the choice to shift the tournament to Dubai. So, no country has objected to choices taken by ICC and BCCI concerning the tournament. With all the mandatory needs, the tournament is prepared to begin this Sunday. 

T20 tournament Matches

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to play in 2 cluster stages with eight groups. Initially, there have been sixteen groups, of which super twelve managed to qualify as per ICC T20 rankings in 2018, wherever the top eight are directly qualified, together with the host India.

Teams with top positions in qualifiers will be a part of the directly qualified groups.

Teams are divided into 2 teams. 

Group one has: 

  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • England
  • West Indies
  • Group A topper
  • Group B runner up from the T20 qualifier part.

Group 2 has:

  • India
  •  New Zealand
  • Afghanistan
  • Pakistan
  • Group B topper
  • Group A runner up from the T20 qualifier part.

T20 World Cup tournament schedule 

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to begin on the 17th of October 2021 and also the final match on the 14th of November. The qualifier part of the T20 tournament will begin 17th of October and end on the 22nd of October 2021. 

From the 23rd of October, the super twelve round will start and continue until the 8th of November 2021. 

After the super12 round, knock-out, or semi-final T20 world cup tournament matches are scheduled on ten November and 11th November in the United Arab Emirates’ capital, Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Each semi-final matches have 2 reserved days. At last, the finals will ensue on fourteen of November 2021, giving us the winner of the men’s cricket T20 world cup tournament. 

T20 world cup tournament venue 

BCCI has declared the four Dubai international stadiums as the T20 tournament venue where the IPL matches are presently going down. The Oman Cricket academy ground, Sharjah Stadium, Dubai International Stadium, and Sheik Zayed Stadium in United Arab Emirates Abu Dhabi are the four international grounds selected for the tournament. 

T20 world cup tournament Squads declared by different countries participating


  • Aaron Finch (C)
  • Pat Cummins (VC)
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa
  • Steve Smith
  • Kane Richardson
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Josh Inglis
  • Matthew Wade
  • Mitchell Swepson

and reserve players:

  • Dan Christian
  • Nathan Ellis
  • Daniel Sams.


  • Virat Kohli(c)
  • Rohit Sharma(v)
  • Rishab Pant
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • KL Rahul
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Axar Patel
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Surya Kumar Yadav
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Bhauvneshwar Kumar
  • Varun Chakravarty

and reserve players:

  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Shardul Thakur.

New Zealand:

  • Kane Williamson (c)
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Todd Astle
  • Mark Chapman
  • Trent Boult
  • Martin Guptill
  • Devon Conway
  • Glenn  Phillips
  • Kyle Jamieson
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Seifert
  • Tim Southee


  • Adam Milne.


  • Babar Azam (C)
  • Mohammed Nawaz
  • Shadab Khan
  • Azam Khan
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Haris Rauf
  • Imad Wasim
  • Hasan Ali
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Mohammed Hafeez
  • Asif Ali
  • Mohammed Rizwan
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Mohammed Wasim Jr
  • Sohaib Maqsood


  • Shahnawaz Dahani
  • Usman Qadir
  • Fakhar Albizia saman.


  • Eoin Morgan(c)
  • Jason Roy
  • Sam Billings
  • Jonathan Bairstow
  • Sam Curran
  • Jos Buttler
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Adil Rashid
  • Dawid Malan
  • Chris Jordan
  • Tymal Mills
  • Moeen Ali
  • David Willey
  • Mark Wood
  • Chris Woakes


  • Liam Dawson
  • Tom Curran
  • James Vince.

South Africa: 

  • Temba Bavuma (c)
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Aiden Markram
  • Bjorn Fortuin
  • David Miller
  • lungyi Ngidi
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • Anrich Nortje
  • W Mulder
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Dwaine Pretorius
  • Rassie van der Dussen


  • George Linde
  • Lizaad Williams
  • Andile Phehlukwayo.


  • Mohammed Nabi ( C )
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  • Gulbadin Naib
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • Rashid Khan
  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Karim Janat
  • Asghar Afghan
  • Usman Ghani
  • Hamid Hassan
  • Naveen ul Haq
  • Sharafuddin Ashraf
  • Dawlat Zadran
  • Shapoor Zadran
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Mohammed Shahzad
  • Hashmatullah Shahidi
  • Qais Ahmad


  • Afsar Zazai
  • Fareed Ahmad.

West Indies:

  • Kieron Pollard (c)
  • Fabian Allen
  • Evin Lewis
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Andre Flencher
  • Chris Gayle
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Obed McCoy
  • Roston Chase
  • Lendl Simmons
  •  Ravi Rampaul
  • Oshane Thomas
  • Andre Russell
  • Hayden Walsh Jr.


  • Darren Bravo
  • Jason Holder
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Akeal Hosein.
MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter