Matthew Hayden picks his IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament; names Sunil Narine and Travis Head as openers

May 28, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

Australian cricket star turned commentator Matthew Hayden has unveiled his hand-picked dream team for the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Hayden’s elite squad showcased a vibrant fusion of Indian cricket prowess and global talent. Four foreign players are also included in Hyden’s team.

Matthew Hayden’s best XI from IPL 2024

Hayden unveiled his team of the tournament from the electrifying IPL 2024 season, exclusively on Star Sports.

Top Order Batters

Sunil Narine once again displayed his multifaceted skills on the field, making significant contributions with both bat and ball. Throughout 15 matches, he amassed an impressive tally of 488 runs while also taking 17 crucial wickets for his team.

Travis Head shone as the season’s fourth top scorer, amassing an impressive total of 567 runs at a remarkable strike rate of 192.2. His dynamic collaborations with Abhishek Sharma have been a standout feature throughout the season.

Virat Kohli once again clinched the coveted Orange Cap, emerging as the top scorer of the tournament for the second time in his IPL journey. His stellar performance saw him accumulate 741 runs in 15 matches, boasting an impressive average of 61.75.

Solid Middle Order

Sanju Samson from Rajasthan Royals (RR), and Nicholas Pooran, playing for Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), showcased stellar performances, each achieving their personal best season totals with 531 and 499 runs, respectively.

Riyan Parag experienced a breakthrough season, accumulating 573 runs, making it his most successful campaign yet.

Heinrich Klaasen, the wicket-keeper-batter for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), has been truly formidable with the bat. Throughout the season, he has amassed a total of 463 runs, showcasing his ability to play match-winning innings.

Also READ: Kevin Pietersen picks his IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament; names Sunil Narine and Virat Kohli as openers

Bowling Combination

Yuzvendra Chahal and Varun Chakravarthy, chosen by Hayden, bring a wealth of experience and skill to the table. Chahal, with his seasoned expertise, and Chakravarthy, the spinner with the most wickets this season, are formidable additions to the team.

Jasprit Bumrah spearheaded the pace assault, flanked by the formidable fast-bowling partnership of Avesh Khan and Sandeep Sharma from RR.

Matthew Hayden’s IPL 2024 team of the tournament: Sunil Narine, Travis Head, Virat Kohli, Sanju Samson, Nicholas Pooran, Riyan Parag, Heinrich Klaasen, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakaravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma.

Hayden’s pick highlights the fusion of seasoned expertise and burgeoning potential in the current IPL season, honouring the standout displays that transformed IPL 2024 into an electrifying spectacle.

Also READ: Top 5 lowest scores in the history of IPL finals

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter