Emerging Player of the Year in each IPL season from 2008 to 2024

May 27, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The curtains fell on the exhilarating 17th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged victorious, clinching their third title in the tournament’s illustrious history.

Despite KKR’s consistent excellence throughout the season, securing a playoff berth by topping the points table and decisively defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the final, this year showcased numerous standout displays from emerging talents across all ten teams. Following the final showdown, SRH all-rounder Nitish Kumar Reddy clinched the coveted ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ award, capping off an impressive campaign for the young star.

In accordance with the guidelines, the ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ accolade is bestowed upon a player who has participated in no more than 5 Test matches or 20 ODI matches and is below the age of 25 as of April 1 of the relevant year. Additionally, the player must have appeared in fewer than 25 IPL matches.

In the premiere showcase, Shreevats Goswami of Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB), now donning the colours of SRH, clinched the accolade for his dazzling performances in the T20 spectacle.

Fast forward to the 16th season, and Yashasvi Jaiswal, representing Rajasthan Royals (RR), earned the honour for his extraordinary batting mastery.

Also WATCH: Emotional Shah Rukh Khan celebrates KKR’s IPL 2024 win with daughter Suhana, warmly embraces Gautam Gambhir

Today, let’s take a glimpse at the recipients of the ‘IPL Emerging Player of the Year’ award since its establishment:

2008: Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2009: Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)
2010: Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)
2011: Iqbal Abdulla (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2012: Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)
2013: Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)
2014: Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)
2015: Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Capitals)
2016: Mustafizur Rahman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2017: Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)
2018: Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)
2019: Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders)
2020: Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings)
2022: Umran Malik (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2023: Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan Royals)
2024: Nitish Kumar Reddy (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Also READ: IPL 2024: Videos of Shreyas Iyer and Sunil Narine’s special celebration with KKR teammates go viral

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.

MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter