Kevin Pietersen picks his IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament; names Sunil Narine and Virat Kohli as openers

May 28, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

Former England cricketer and commentator Kevin Pietersen has revealed his team of the tournament for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. Pietersen’s XI features a mix of Indian talent and international stars, including five overseas players, three of whom hail from the West Indies.

Kevin Pietersen’s best XI from IPL 2024

Speaking to Star Sports anchor Mayanti Langer Binny, Pieterson revealed his best XI from the recently-concluded IPL 2024 season.

Kevin Pietersen’s IPL 2024 team of the tournament: Virat Kohli, Sunil Narine, Rajat Patidar, Shivam Dube, Heinrich Klaasen, Cameron Green, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, T Natarajan

Virat Kohli finished as the leading run-getter of the tournament, securing the Orange Cap for the second time in his IPL career. He amassed 741 runs from 15 matches at an average of 61.75. His consistent performances were pivotal for his team.

Sunil Narine showcased his all-round prowess, scoring 488 runs and taking 17 wickets, earning him the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award for the third time. His contributions were instrumental in helping Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) clinch their third IPL title.

Also READ: Complete list of MVP award winners since IPL 2008 to 2024

Rajat Patidar and Shivam Dube also had impressive seasons, scoring 396 and 396 runs respectively, solidifying their spots in Pietersen’s team.

Heinrich Klaasen enjoyed his best IPL season to date, scoring 479 runs at a phenomenal strike rate of 171.07, while Cameron Green made significant contributions with both bat and ball, scoring 255 runs and taking 10 wickets in 13 matches for Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB).

Nicholas Pooran set the IPL alight with his explosive batting, finishing the season with 499 runs at a blistering strike rate of 178.21.

Despite not making a significant impact with the bat, Andre Russell was a force with the ball, taking 19 wickets from 14 matches at an average of 15.53.

In the bowling department, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal had a solid season, claiming 18 wickets in 15 matches. Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah was a standout performer, taking 20 wickets from 13 matches at an average of 16.80, while T Natarajan of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) had a remarkable season with 19 wickets from 14 matches at an average of 24.47.

Also READ: Eoin Morgan reveals his favourite team in the T20 World Cup 2024

Pietersen’s selection underscores the blend of experience and emerging talent in this year’s IPL, celebrating the performances that made IPL 2024 a thrilling season.

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter