New Zealand announce squad for Bangladesh ODIs, Trent Boult opts out

Dec 7, 2023

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

Trent Boult
(Photo Source: Twitter)

In a recent development, New Zealand have unveiled their 13-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh, scheduled to take place from December 17 to 23. The BlackCaps have opted to rest several senior players, resulting in the formation of a revamped squad. Trent Boult, a key figure in the team’s journey to the World Cup 2023 semi-final, has excluded himself from selection. 

In the absence of Kane Williamson, who is also going to be rested, Tom Latham has been appointed as the captain of the ODI side. The team management has strategically rested key players like Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, and Devon Conway as part of their preparation for the upcoming home season.

While Boult hasn’t officially retired from international cricket, he withdrew from New Zealand’s central contracts in August 2022. Since then, he has been selectively participating in series with the senior national team and prioritizing playing in lucrative franchise-based T20 leagues all around the world. Despite his recent participation in the ODI World Cup in India, Boult has made himself unavailable for the upcoming series.

The squad features new faces, with all-rounder Josh Clarkson and tall fast bowler William O’Rourke earning their maiden international call-ups. Leg-spinner Adi Ashok, previously seen in a T20I for the BlackCaps, receives his first ODI squad inclusion, stepping in for Ish Sodhi, who will be present for the initial T20I before taking a break. Additionally, Rachin Ravindra, who was not part of the Test squad in Bangladesh, will serve as the other spinner in the ODI line-up.

NZ Squad:

Tom Latham, Adi Ashok (2nd and 3rd ODI), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI), Will Young.

ODI Series Schedule:

Sunday, December 17: University of Otago Oval, Dunedin
Wednesday, December 20: Saxton Oval, Nelson
Saturday, December 23: McLean Park, Napier

Subsequently, the two teams are scheduled to play a T20I series from December 27 to 31. Bangladesh have designated Najmul Hossain Shanto as their captain for the white-ball tour in the absence of Shakib Al Hasan.


Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Kumer Das, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Rakibul Hasan.


Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Rony Talukdar, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib

MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter