New Zealand announce strong squad for home Test series against England, Kyle Jamieson returns

Feb 3, 2023

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

New Zealand Team (Photo Source: ASIF HASSAN/AFP via Getty Images)

New Zealand Cricket announced a 14-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against England at home. Star pacer, Kyle Jamieson, who was forced out with a back injury while playing against England in June 2022, is included in the team. Tim Southee, who captained the Kiwis in Tests for the first time in the recent Pakistan tour, will be leading a strong squad.

Jamieson made a comeback from his back injury last month and gained a match fitness with four domestic games for Auckland in Super Smash and The Ford Trophy. Jamieson has 72 wickets from just 16 Tests at an amazing average of 19.45 and will be crucial for the hosts with Trent Boult missing out again.

Apart from Jamieson, the BlackCaps have named four specialist pace options with Southee leading the attack with Neil Wagner, Matt Henry, and Blair Tickner. New Zealand’s head coach, Gary Stead, confirmed that Jamieson is ready for the Tests and will be part of the warm-up game as well.

“Kyle is a very determined character with a strong desire to play international cricket for New Zealand. Since he was forced from the field in Nottingham he’s been very clear that he wants to get his body right to return. He’s reported good progress since his return to professional cricket with Auckland and he will get the opportunity to play some long form cricket as part of the New Zealand XI Squad to face England in their warm-up match next week at Seddon Park,” Gary Stead said on Jamieson’s return.

Ish Sodhi and Michael Bracewell are also named in the team but Ajaz Patel and Glenn Phillips, who were part of New Zealand’s last Test series against Pakistan, missed out. The first match will be a pink-ball day-night Test at the Bay Oval in Tauranga from February 16 to February 20. While the second Test will be played at Cello Basin Reserve in Wellington from February 24 to February 28.

New Zealand Test squad: Tim Southee (c), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

MCW Sports Subscribe
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter