Pakistan unveil T20I squad for the Ireland and England tour; Haris Rauf returns

May 2, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Thursday, announced the men’s squad for the upcoming tours of Ireland and England. The T20I squad was announced by Pakistan’s Men’s National Selection Committee in a press conference held in Lahore. Following his reinstatement as captain, Babar Azam will lead the side, a decision made prior to the conclusion of the recent five-match T20I series against New Zealand held at home.

Tour details

Pakistan will kick off their tour with a three-match T20I series against Ireland, commencing on May 10 in Dublin. Following this, they will proceed to face England in a four-match T20I series, starting from May 22 in Leeds.

Haris Rauf makes his comeback

One of the significant highlights of the squad announcement is the return of fast bowler Haris Rauf. Rauf missed the recent series against New Zealand due to a shoulder injury sustained during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024. Additionally, veteran pacer Hassan Ali also makes a comeback, adding depth to Pakistan’s bowling attack.

Also READ: PCB proposes an exclusive venue for all of India’s matches in Champions Trophy 2025

World Cup preparation

With an eye on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, the 18-member squad will undergo further trimming to accommodate 15 players after the first T20I against England on May 22, aligning with the ICC’s May 24 deadline.

“The squad encompasses a robust top-order featuring Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, and Usman Khan; an effective middle-order with Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed and Muhammad Irfan Khan; versatile all-rounders in Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan and Salman Ali Agha; a pace battery led by Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi; and the spin prowess of Abrar Ahmed,” the statement from Men’s National Selection Committee read.

Pakistan’s squad for Ireland and England T20Is

Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan.

Also READ: Australia unveils bold new jersey for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter