SA20 2024: Here’s the complete list of award winners and the details of prize money

Feb 11, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

In a commanding display of cricketing prowess, Sunrisers Eastern Cape secured their second consecutive SA20 title by dominating Durban Super Giants in a one-sided final by 89 runs on Saturday, February 10, at Newlands, Cape Town.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape’s dominant triumph in SA20 2024: A second consecutive title

Opting to bat first the Eastern Cape posted an imposing 204/3 in their allotted 20 overs. Tom Abell‘s brisk 55 off 34, captain Aiden Markram‘s unbeaten 42 off 26, and Tristan Stubbs‘ explosive 56 not out off 30 balls formed the core of their commanding innings.

Facing a daunting target, the Super Giants faltered in their pursuit and were bundled out for a mere 115 runs in just 17 overs. The batting lineup couldn’t withstand the pressure imposed by the Eastern Cape bowlers. Wiaan Mulder top-scored with 38 off 22, but the rest of the batting order struggled against the relentless bowling attack.

Left-arm pacer Marco Jansen emerged as the chief architect of the Eastern Cape’s bowling dominance, wreaking havoc with a spectacular five-wicket haul. His figures of 5/30 played a pivotal role in dismantling the  Super Giants’ batting lineup and restricting them to a below-par total.

Also READ: Twitter reactions: Clinical Sunrisers Eastern Cape thrash Durban Super Giants to win SA20 2024

Aiden Markram’s leadership

The Eastern Cape’s victory in the final marked their second consecutive title in the SA20 tournament. Despite a lukewarm start with only one point from their initial two matches, they orchestrated a remarkable comeback. Finishing at the top of the league stage, they carried their winning momentum into the playoffs, securing a place in the finals with a win in the first Qualifier.

Their near-flawless performance in the finals showcased their dominance and solidified their status as the team to beat in SA20 2024. Markram played a crucial role both with the bat and in leading the team to victory. His unbeaten 42 in the final added stability to the batting, and his astute captaincy guided the Eastern Cape to another triumph. Markram’s leadership proved instrumental in steering the team through challenges and securing back-to-back titles.

List of award winners on the night of SA20 2024 Final:

Winners – Sunrisers Eastern Cape (USD 1.8 Million)
Runners up – Durban Super Giants (USD 858,366)
Player of the Match – Tom Abell (USD 120)
Spirit of Cricket Award – Sunrisers Eastern Cape (USD 5264)
Rising Star of the Season Award – Marco Jansen (USD 5264)
Batter of the Season – Heinrich Klaasen (USD 10,565)
Bowler of the Season – Ottnie Baartmen (USD 10,565)
Player of the Season – Heinrich Klaasen (USD 18,488)

Also WATCH: Kavya Maran’s heartwarming reaction after Sunrisers Eastern Cape bags SA20 2024 title

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter