Bangladesh name squad for last two T20Is against Zimbabwe; Shakib Al Hasan returns

May 8, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), on Wednesday, announced the men’s squad for the last two games of the five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. Notably, Bangladesh had released their squad prior to the series commencement, albeit only for the initial three matches.

Shakib Al Hasan makes his comeback

A significant development sees the return of veteran all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan to the Bangladesh squad. Shakib, who faced eye problems during the last ICC ODI World Cup in India, was advised a cautious recovery post-event. Therefore, he missed out on the white-ball series against New Zealand and Sri Lanka. Notably, Shakib opted out of the initial three T20Is against Zimbabwe to participate in the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) to gear up for international cricket.

Mustafizur Rahman and Soumya Sarkar return

Mustafizur Rahman, rested for the series’ first trio of matches following his Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 stint, rejoins the squad. Additionally, Soumya Sarkar, recuperated from a knee injury sustained during the last Sri Lanka ODI encounter, makes a comeback.

Also WATCH: Viral outrage – Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan caught assaulting selfie-seeking fan

Bangladesh squad for the last two T20Is versus Zimbabwe

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Litton Kumar Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali Anik, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Soumya Sarkar, Tanvir Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin

Bangladesh eye series whitewash

Expectedly so, Bangladesh have asserted their dominance in the T20I leg so far, winning all the first three games and taking an insurmountable 3-0 lead. The hosts will be looking forward to continue with their winning momentum and completing a series whitewash over Zimbabwe. The fourth T20I is scheduled to take place on Friday (May 10) while the fifth T20I will be played on Sunday (May 12). The iconic Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka will be the host for the final two T20Is.

Also READ: Ireland announces squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter