Twitter erupts as Brisbane Heat ends 11-year title drought with dominating win over Sydney Sixers in BBL|13 final

Jan 24, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

In the highly anticipated final of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24 between the Sydney Sixers faced and Brisbane Heat, the Nathan McSweeney-led Heat registered a dominating win by 54 runs to win the prestigious title. It was Heat’s second title in BBL history. They first won the trophy back in the 2012-13 season.

Josh Brown drives Brisbane Heat to a competitive total

Opting to bowl first after winning the toss, the Sixers aimed to restrict the Heat and chase down the target for the championship. However, the Brisbane Heat ended up posting a competitive total of 166/8 in their 20 overs.

Opener Josh Brown led the charge with a solid half-century. He scored 53 off 38 balls, including five fours and three sixes. Contributions from skipper McSweeney (33), Matt Renshaw (40), and Max Bryant (29) helped build the innings. Sean Abbott was the pick of the bowlers for the Sixers, claiming four wickets for 32 runs in his four overs.

Spencer Johnson wreaks havoc

In response, the Sydney Sixers struggled to find momentum in their innings and were eventually bowled out for 112 in 17.3 overs. Moises Henriques top-scored with 25 runs, but it was Spencer Johnson, who starred with the ball for the Heat. Johnson didn’t give any opportunity to Sixers’ batters and ended up taking impressive four wickets for 26 runs in his quota of four overs.

Michael Neser, Xavier Bartlett, and Mitchell Swepson also made crucial contributions with the ball for the Heat, restricting the Sixers’ batting lineup. Ultimately, the Brisbane Heat emerged victorious, winning the final by a convincing margin of 54 runs.

Also READ: AUS vs WI, 2nd Test – Match Prediction, Dream11 Team, Fantasy Tips & Pitch Report | Australia vs West Indies 2024

Here is how Twitter reacted:

They brought the HEAT 🏆

Brisbane are #BBL13 champions!

— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 24, 2024


— Brisbane Heat (@HeatBBL) January 24, 2024

Brisbane Heat won the BBL 2023-24….!!!!

They have won BBL after 11 long years. 👌⭐

— Johns. (@CricCrazyJohns) January 24, 2024

Meet the winner of BBL|13: Brisbane Heat 🩵#cricket #BBL13 #CricketTwitter

— (@CricketTimesHQ) January 24, 2024


— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) January 24, 2024

Brisbane Heat win the BBL title after 11 years.

— Kausthub Gudipati (@kaustats) January 24, 2024

Brisbane Heat, champions after 11 years 😭❤️😭❤️😭❤️😭❤️😭❤️

— Rohan 🧉 (@rohanbasur1702) January 24, 2024

Winners of #BBL13 are BRISBANE HEAT

— Don Cricket 🏏 (@doncricket_) January 24, 2024

Brisbane Heat won the BBL 2023-24….!!!!

They have won BBL after 11 long years. 👌⭐

— A M Soz (@amsoz) January 24, 2024

Congratulations Brisbane Heat 🏆

— Lubana Warriors (@LovepreetS49) January 24, 2024

Brisbane heat break the men’s finals hoodoo #BBL13

— Jacob ⚫️⚪️🏆🤘 (@MagpieMetalcore) January 24, 2024

Congratulations to Brisbane Heat for winning the 13th Big Bash League Championship – BBL 13. 🏏

Spencer Johnson takes 4 wickets for 26 runs – Changes the course of the game for Heat. A true match winner 🫡#BBL13 #BBLFinal #BrisbaneHeat #Johnson

— Ameer Hamza Asif (@AmeerHamzaAsif) January 24, 2024

Spencer Johnson my god what a guy. “The Brisbane Heat changed my life.” It’s so rare to find someone so humble. What a legend. So happy for him! #BBL13

— Ash (@_hattrickash_) January 24, 2024

Brisbane Heat are #BBL13 champions 🏆🏆

Gujarat Titans Pacer’s Spencer Johnson Hero of the Final.

— Amit Patel (@PatelCricinfo) January 24, 2024

The Brisbane Heat are Big Bash CHAMPIONS! 🏆

— Steven Miles (@StevenJMiles) January 24, 2024


— നരിസി_അഖില❤️ (@YaggonuNarsi) January 24, 2024

Also READ: AUS vs WI 2024, 2nd Test – The Gabba Pitch Report, Brisbane Weather Forecast, Test Stats & Records | Australia vs West Indies

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter