8 players who retired after T20 World Cup 2024 ft. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma

Jul 4, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The T20 World Cup 2024 concluded in spectacular fashion with India defeating South Africa in the final, ending a 13-year ICC trophy drought. This thrilling finale saw India lift the T20 World Cup trophy for the second time, having previously won the inaugural edition in 2007. The electrifying atmosphere at the Barbados stadium was a testament to the global popularity and excitement that T20 cricket generates, and India’s victory added another glorious chapter to their cricketing history.

Notably, India’s triumph was a result of remarkable teamwork, strategic brilliance, and standout performances, especially in the final match where they held their nerves in a cracking contest against South Africa. This victory holds special significance as it marked India’s first ICC trophy since their 2013 Champions Trophy win, reestablishing their dominance in international cricket.

Several players retire after T20 World Cup 2024

The conclusion of the tournament also saw the end of an era for some of the sport’s most celebrated players. Eight cricketing stars, including a few legends, who have significantly contributed to their teams and the global cricket fraternity, announced their retirement.

Let’s have a look at 8 players who retired after T20 World Cup 2024

1) Virat Kohli (India)

Virat Kohli bid farewell to the T20I format after India secured the prestigious trophy, capping his T20I career with a Player of the Match performance in the final. While he steps away from T20Is, Kohli will continue to be a mainstay in the Indian cricket team, playing in the Test and ODI formats, where his experience and skill remain invaluable.

Kohli’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 125
Runs: 4188
Average: 48.69
100s/50s: 1 and 38

2) Rohit Sharma (India)

Following India’s World Cup victory, captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from T20Is. He became only the second Indian skipper, after MS Dhoni, to lift the T20 World Cup trophy, cementing his legacy as a remarkable leader. Rohit’s exceptional leadership and batting prowess have been pivotal to India’s success in T20 cricket, guiding the team to numerous victories and setting new standards for future generations.

Rohit’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 159
Runs: 4231
Average: 32.05
100s/50s: 5 and 32

3) Ravindra Jadeja (India)

The day after India’s T20 World Cup victory, Ravindra Jadeja announced his retirement from the shortest format on social media. Jadeja has been a vital player for India, and his absence from T20Is will be deeply felt.

Jadeja’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 74
Runs: 515
Wickets: 54
Best: 3/15

Also WATCH: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and other Indian players meet PM Narendra Modi after T20 World Cup 2024 triumph

4) David Warner (Australia)

Aussie legend David Warner had already announced that the T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies would be his final appearance for Australia. His retirement was confirmed after Australia’s campaign came to end following defeat against India in the Super 8 stage.

Warner’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 110
Runs: 3227
Average: 33.43
100s/50s: 1 and 28

5) Trent Boult (New Zealand)

Trent Boult concluded his T20I career following New Zealand’s exit from the T20 World Cup 2024. As New Zealand’s most consistent bowler, Boult’s presence will be greatly missed by fans and the Black Caps team alike.

Boult’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 61
Wickets: 83
Best: 4/13

6) David Wiese (Namibia)

Namibia’s standout all-rounder, David Wiese, announced his retirement from international cricket following their final group stage match against England in the T20 World Cup 2024. Initially making his T20I debut for South Africa in August 2013 against Sri Lanka, Wiese began representing Namibia in the opening round of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Wiese’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 54
Runs: 624
Wickets: 59
Best: 5/23

7) Brian Masaba (Uganda)

After Uganda’s exit from the group stage at the T20 World Cup 2024, their captain Brian Masaba relinquished his role as T20I skipper and retired from the T20 format as well.

Masaba’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 61
Runs: 437
Wickets: 23
Best: 3/8

8) Sybrand Engelbrecht (Netherlands)

Netherlands’ Sybrand Engelbrecht ended his T20I career after playing his last game against Sri Lanka in the global event. Engelbrecht’s international stint spanned only 12 games, starting with his debut against Nepal earlier this year.

Engelbrech’s numbers in T20Is:

Matches: 12
Runs: 280
Wickets: 5
Best: 2/13

Also READ: Champions Trophy 2025: India vs Pakistan match set on March 1 in Lahore; BCCI yet to confirm

For latest cricket news & updates, visit CricketTimes.com.

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter