Mohammad Kaif picks his India squad for T20 World Cup 2024; no place for Rinku Singh

Apr 15, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The T20 World Cup 2024 is drawing closer, and cricket fanatics in India are eagerly waiting to see their team in action. With Rohit Sharma, known for his aggressive batting, leading the charge, Team India has a strong chance at winning the trophy. With a plethora of talented players to choose from, all eyes are on the final squad selection.

Mohammad Kaif names his India squad

Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif has unveiled his picks for the mega event, creating a buzz with some unexpected selections. Kaif went with some expected choices and also named Rishabh Pant and Yuzvendra Chahal in his final 15.

Focus on power hitting and all-rounders

Kaif’s batting order prioritizes aggressive strokeplay, with the young prodigy Yashasvi Jaiswal partnering with the experienced Rohit at the crease. Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Pant form a formidable middle-order, promising a flurry of runs. Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja solidify the lower-middle order with their all-round abilities, while Kuldeep Yadav brings his deceptive spin into the mix. Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh spearhead the pace attack.

Also READ: Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, or Sanju Samson? Brad Hogg picks India’s wicketkeeper for T20 World Cup 2024

No place for Rinku Singh

The most striking aspect of Kaif’s squad is the omission of Rinku Singh, who has been in exceptional form for KKR in the IPL, known for his finishing skills. Instead, Kaif opted for Riyan Parag, impressed by his recent performances in the ongoing season. Mohammed Siraj, despite his recent dip in form, earned a spot due to his vast experience.

“Yashasvi Jaiswal will open alongside Rohit Sharma. Then Virat Kohli at No. 3, Suryakumar Yadav at No. 4, Hardik Pandya at No. 5 and Rishabh Pant at No. 6. I will keep a lot of all-rounders because you need batting depth. So I will say Akshar Patel at No. 7 and Ravindra Jadeja at No. 8. After that, Kuldeep Yadav, who is a skillful bowler, at No. 9. Then two fast bowlers – Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh. That makes it your XI. Then I will go with Shivam Dube. He is in great form and plays spin splendidly. He drives the game very well after six overs,” said Kaif on Star Sports.

“I will take Riyan Parag’s name. He is playing exceptionally well and deserves to be in the squad. That makes it 14, plus I will take Mohammed Siraj’s name. Although he is not in form, he is an experienced bowler and has a fantastic overall record,” he added.

Mohammad Kaif’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad for India

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Akshar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shivam Dube, Riyan Parag, Mohammed Siraj

Also READ: Venkatesh Prasad picks India’s ideal top-order lineup for T20 World Cup 2024

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
ICC World Cup to kickstart soon! Subscribe to MCW for early exclusive giveaway now!
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter