Star players from IPL 2024 who will feature in the MLC 2024

Jul 5, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

Major League Cricket (MLC) is set to return for its highly anticipated second edition in 2024 after a successful debut season in 2023. The upcoming tournament will commence on Saturday (July 6) and promises to bring even more excitement and top-notch cricket action. MI New York, the champions of the inaugural season, will be looking to defend their title as six teams compete in a round-robin format.

Major League Cricket 2024: Tournament structure and venues

The 2024 season will feature six teams: MI New York, Texas Super Kings, LA Knight Riders, Seattle Orcas, San Francisco and Washington Freedom. The teams will face each other once in the league stage, resulting in a total of 21 matches.

The initial 15 games will be held at Church Street Park and Grand Prairie Stadium, with the remaining group stage fixtures and knockout matches taking place at Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. The top four teams will advance to the playoffs, where the victorious teams from the knockout matches will battle it out in the final.

IPL franchise influence and star power

Four of the six teams in MLC are owned by franchises from the Indian Premier League (IPL), bringing with them a wealth of experience and star-studded lineups. However, it’s not just about the ownership; the tournament will also feature numerous stars who have already made a significant impact in the IPL 2024 season with their electrifying performances. These players will be looking to replicate their success in MLC 2024, adding even more excitement to the competition.

Also READ: Major League Cricket announces the complete schedule for MLC 2024

Key players to watch:

Here are some major stars out of the impressive roster of players who will be lighting up the second season of MLC:

1. Rashid Khan

MLC 2024 team: MI New York
IPL 2024 team: Gujarat Titans (GT)

The Afghan leg-spinner, known for his game-changing abilities, will be a key player for MI New York. His spin wizardry and T20 experience make him a formidable opponent.

2. Faf du Plessis

MLC 2024 team: Texas Super Kings
IPL 2024 team: Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)

The former South African captain brings a wealth of experience and leadership to the Texas Super Kings. His aggressive batting at the top of the order will be crucial for his team’s success.

3. Andre Russell

MLC 2024 team: Los Angeles Knight Riders
IPL 2024 team: Kolkata Knight Riders

The explosive West Indian all-rounder is known for his power-hitting and can turn the game around in a matter of overs. Russell’s presence will add immense firepower to the LA Knight Riders.

4. Glenn Maxwell

MLC 2024 team: Washington Freedom
IPL 2024 team: Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)

The Australian all-rounder, famous for his unorthodox shots and off-spin bowling, will be a key player for the Seattle Orcas. Maxwell’s ability to perform under pressure will be an asset to his team.

5. Quinton de Kock

MLC 2024 team: Seattle Orcas
IPL 2024 team: Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

The South African wicketkeeper-batter is known for his aggressive batting style and will be looking to dominate the opposition bowlers in the tournament for the Seattle Orcas

6. David Miller

MLC 2024 team: Los Angeles Knight Riders 
IPL 2024 team: Gujarat Titans (GT)

The South African left-handed batter, known for his clean hitting and ability to accelerate innings, joins will play for Los Angeles Knight Riders. Miller’s experience and batting prowess will be crucial in guiding his team to success.

7. Pat Cummins

MLC 2024 team: San Francisco Unicorns
IPL 2024 team: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

The Australian fast bowler, who captained Sunrisers Hyderabad to the IPL 2024 final this year, brings his leadership and bowling prowess to San Francisco Unicorns. Cummins’ ability to lead and deliver match-winning performances will be a significant boost for his team.

Full list of Cricketers from IPL 2024 who will participate in MLC 2024:

Pat Cummins, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Matt Henry, Spencer Johnson, Andre Russell, David Miller, Rilee Rossouw, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Faf du Plessis, Marcus Stoinis, Gerald Coetzee, Naveen-ul-Haq, Noor Ahmad , Mitchell Santner, Rachin Ravindra, Glenn Maxwell, Marco Jansen, Travis Head, Nicholas Pooran,  Anrich Nortje, Romario Shepherd, Trent Boult, Tim David, Kagiso Rabada, Rashid Khan, Kieron Pollard, Nandre Burger, Nathan Ellis,  Shimron Hetmyer, Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock

Also READ: Major League Cricket (MLC) 2024: Complete squads of all six teams

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
MCW Thunders Into the Cricket Scene with the Mississauga Partnership of the Bangla Tigers
MCW Euro 2024 Cup Weekly Cashback
MCW and San Francisco Unicorns: Gold Meets Orange, Deal is Sealed
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter