Key players missing as Afghanistan announces T20I squad for Sri Lanka series

Feb 13, 2024

No tags for this post.
Spread the love

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced their men’s squad for the upcoming T20 international (T20I) series against Sri Lanka.

The three T20Is are scheduled to take place in Dambulla on February 17, 19, and 21, following the conclusion of the ODI leg on Wednesday, February 14.

Key players to miss the Sri Lanka T20Is

Ibrahim Zadran will retain his leadership of the T20I team, while Rashid Khan – who is recovering from a back surgery undergone last year – will accompany the squad. However, the touring party has encountered a setback as Mujeeb ur Rahman will also be absent from the series due to a right-hand sprain sustained before the ODI series.

Meanwhile, Mohammad Saleem Safi continues to recover from a hamstring strain that ruled him out of the ODIs against the Islanders.

Also READ: Sri Lanka announces 16-man squad for Afghanistan T20Is; Binura Fernando replaces injured Dushmantha Chameera

In his statement, Afghanistan’s chief selector, Ahmad Shah Sulimankhil, highlighted the team’s focus on the upcoming T20 World Cup.

“We have a close eye on the upcoming T20 World Cup for which we want to prepare a very good mix of players consisting of both juniors and seniors,” Sulimankhil was quoted saying in an ACB press release.

He further stated, “This series, along with the three T20Is against Ireland in March, presents a great opportunity for us to assess our bench strength and finalize a formidable squad for the prestigious event.”

The T20 World Cup is set to take place in the United States of America (USA) and the West Indies in June this year. The Afghans diligently preparing to make a significant impact on the global stage as they gear up for the highly anticipated tournament.

Afghanistan’s T20I squad for Sri Lanka series:

Ibrahim Zadran (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mohammad Ishaq Rahimi, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Noor Ahmad, Wafadar Momand, Qais Ahmad

Also READ: IND vs ENG – KL Rahul sidelined for Rajkot Test; replacement announced

For latest cricket news & updates, visit

MCW Sports Subscribe
Atlético de Madrid announces Mega Casino World (MCW) as Official Regional Partner
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
Pretoria Capitals announce Mega Casino World as Principal Partner for Season Two of SA20
Mega Casino World announces Anrich Nortje as the newest Brand Ambassador
MCW Sports Joins Gladiators’ Family as Platinum Sponsor for PSL8
MCW Sports - Ambassador
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Subscribe to our Newsletter